PDA

View Full Version : Aikido

whistlelock
07-26-2006, 09:16 AM
Anyone familiar with the different styles?

Kushiel
07-26-2006, 09:25 AM
This topic looked lonely so I thought I would respond. Sadly I do not know much about Akido other then the fact I saw it preformed once and fell in love with it; which is not a hard accomplishment since I pretty much love all things Japaness. I am going to be taking classes in Akido come next month; I am really looking forward to it.

I also deeply appologize for spelling Akido wrong in the title.

tiny
07-26-2006, 09:35 AM
Nope, but I have trained in several other forms. Personally I think any form is good as long as you cross train into another. All forms have their weaknesses. I've been training in Krav Maga and karate for about six years, both of which I instruct now. I've also trained in Jiu Jitsu, boxing, and Muay Thai. If you choose a good stand up form, make sure you complement it with a ground form. You'll be a more rounded fighter in the end.

whistlelock
07-26-2006, 10:08 AM
This topic looked lonely so I thought I would respond. Aw, thanks man. I appreciate that.

and thanks too Tiny. I was hoping to get some easy-sleasy research done here but, ah well.

In my current project my protag has taken up Akido and I was hoping to throw some jargon in. I guess it'll have to wait until a second draft when I've learned some of the jargon myself.

Looks like it's off to Half-Priced Books in the morning.

Birol
07-26-2006, 10:25 AM
What kind of jargon?

I can move this into the Story Experts forum. You'd get more and better responses there.

alleycat
07-26-2006, 10:36 AM
I have a copy of Aikido and the Dynamic Sphere, which is very good. I would recommend it.

Opty
07-26-2006, 10:47 AM
Aw, thanks man. I appreciate that.

and thanks too Tiny. I was hoping to get some easy-sleasy research done here but, ah well.