PDA

View Full Version : Need A Mentor

xnova
07-12-2006, 02:10 AM
Well, we'll see if this works. It has taken me a pretty long time just to find a site for writers where it looks like people can actually write, so so far so good.

I am just starting out. I *think* I am a pretty strong writer, based on my university career in which I got high marks in all my writing courses. Now, I realize that just having a degree does not affirm my skill, but my courses covered a wide range, including film critiquing, humour writing, in addition to the usual essay writing in history, geography, english, etc. I am NOT looking for a mentor who is automatically prejudiced against someone with a university education, as I have seen many writers to be. I understand it is useless in marketing oneself, but it is pretty valuable when it comes to honing abilities and research skills.

Where I really need help is marketing. I have no idea how to find markets, how to approach those markets, if what I write is good, etc. I like to write humour pieces, family pieces, nature pieces, and historical pieces. Books at some point, but I would really like to break in to newspapers and magazines to make money while the books come together.

I have read a few books on freelancing, and they are good in how they tell you how to create a proposal, a query, the technical points. They are not so good in trying to help determine where my strengths lie, what type of markets I should be approaching, or where to find those markets.

I could really use the help!

xnova
07-12-2006, 02:19 AM
Oh yeah David Quammen if you come here then you would be IDEAL. LOL.
(No, just to clarify I am not that naive, just making a joke).

katiemac
07-13-2006, 02:22 AM
XNova, if you don't mind, I just wanted to post a link to your piece in Share Your Work (http://www.absolutewrite.com/forums/showthread.php?t=35245)so other members can see a writing sample of yours.