• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Looking for a serious writing partner

Status
Not open for further replies.

gigergal

I'm new to this board but really looking for a serious writing partner.

I'm a reasonably new writer, not a complete beginner but still have loads to learn. I write short and flash fiction, as well as poetry. My preferred genres are horror, supernatural, mystery and historical.

I've been published a couple of times...and rejected too, so I know how that feels.

I'm looking for someone who has a bit of expertise, who is prepared to stay the course with me, share the ups and downs of writing. I can accept honest but constructive feedback and am willing to give the same.

What's important too is being able to help someone else too - writing is a lonely career.

Hope to hear from anybody.

gigergal

brer

Banned
Flounced
Reaction score
May I offer a suggestion?

- Polish up a piece of your recent writing (like 4 pages, double-spaced) and post it (as a new thread) in the appropriate genre forum in "Share Your Work" (SYW).

- Mention in that post that you are new to this forum and a relatively new writer.
I'd suggest NOT mentioning yet that you are looking for a mentor.

- BEFORE POSTING your piece, edit and re-edit it many times and real hard (like, imo, average over 10 hrs per page--more like 15 to 20 hrs per page). Make it good enough that you would submit it to a professional place/editor that pays for work submitted. (Sure, your piece would probably get rejected but that's a separate issue.)