PDA

View Full Version : Seeking Opinions

Wolf
07-07-2006, 10:19 AM
As a new author I am still unfamiliar with the whole publishing game. I have started to research POD and was wondering what the opinions of the authors on this forum are when considering this type of publishing.

The POD publisher I have talked to charges nothing for editing or art work and only charges when you receive an actual order from people that want to buy your book.

The main difficulty I see is that I would be responsible for the bulk of the marketing.

So with this in mind what do you folks think?

citymouse
07-07-2006, 04:04 PM
[quote=Wolf]

The main difficulty I see is that I would be responsible for the bulk of the marketing.

Wolf, No matter which POD outfit you go with (assuming you do) the bulk of the marketing will fall to you. Some companies offer a "Marketing Kit" option for additional $$ but there's nothing in it that you can't find on the web for free. Some companies offer placing ads for you in big publications and they charge big money for that.
I have two POD books out. One is with iUniverse and one is with Author House.
Also be aware that 90% of POD books are sold via on-line catalogs like Amazon.com. Because of the short discounts POD companies offer brick and mortar stores like Borders, these stores don't/won't carry them.
If you can be happy with on-line sales alone then POD may be the way to go.
One thing more, so pay attention. Make absolutely sure that the final galley you submit to any POD company is as perfect as you can get it. That means having at least 4 beta readers (six is better) looking at your finished ms.

Good luck

Tilly
07-07-2006, 05:00 PM
Wolf, I'd suggest you research commercial publishing very thoroughly as well before opting for POD. Many books simply aren't suited to that kind of publication, and looking at all your options is the best way to make an informed decision.

This link might be a good place to start: