Calling all experts - a riff on info-dumping (retrieved)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Puma

Retired and loving it!
Registered
Reaction score
Calling all experts (a riff on info-dumping)

06-16-2006, 08:42 PM

So when Puma mentioned being a geology expert, my interest was piqued.

Surely in such a diverse, well-educated group (flattery will get you everywhere), we must have a passel of experts--either formally educated or self-taught--on any number of subjects.

Would you deign to share with us the names of any books that you think cover the basics of your subject well enough that it would keep us from committing any world-building howlers?

I'd like to know more about...
  • geology, especially the development of landforms (where do cliffs occur, vs. gently sloping beaches, and why?)
  • ecology, especially predator/prey population balance
  • language development and diversity (Shweta's awesome thread has gotten me ruminating on this... frex, I really want to know how mutually unintelligible two population groups' languages could become after about seven hundred years' separation and one group's intermingling with a group that speaks a completely unrelated language)
  • non-Western magical/shamanistic traditions, esp. those of the Middle East and North Africa
Unfortunately, I'm not much of an expert on anything... but I can recommend a few good books on medieval urban development, medieval and Renaissance art or evolutionary biology, if anyone is interested...

06-16-2006, 09:25 PM

If you're looking for Africa, you can find some great stuff in American History, and hidden in World Literature.

"Confessions of St. Augustine", "Fram Calabar to Carter's Grove", "The Diligent", "Things Fall Apart", "The Egyptian Book of the Dead", "Love Songs of the New Kingdom".

Also, read the great Greek works (Timbuktu was the center of world education during the dark ages, and the African-Arabic World KNEW their Greek philosphy upside-down an sideways).