a Five-year success story

lorna_w

Hybrid Grump
Registered
Reaction score
Five good years at self-publishing? Surely not.

But it's true. I have been in this for five years. (I was trade published before that for 25 years, but I made ridiculously little money at it via that route, and several years I spent more in postage stamps than I earned! Ahh, the old days.) I’ve done well, and I've been earning the top wages of my work life for over four years now.

Last year when I posted an anniversary post, having reached my limit of writing several books per year, and not willing to "pay to play" as Amazon's AMS system demands, I was feeling certain that my sales would tail off badly this past year. Still, at that point I was satisfied with having had my moment in the sun and being aware of the sunset approaching. A lot of writers never experience what I have for a few years, and I'm well aware of that, and I am appropriately grateful.

But then this year I got another dose of good luck. (I of course worked for it, but such efforts often come to nothing.) Occasionally, your career ship goes where you steer it. Mine did this past year. Next year? Not counting on it. The landscape has shifted, and it’s harder to succeed these days than it was in 2014.

My avatar shows something of my sales at Amazon midway through the year. (My novels cost 2.99 to 5.99 USD, and I don't give away free books, not even for promotions.) I also have paper and audio sales, the former earning me about $100/month, and the latter doubling my income in the best months. I only run newsletter ads two or three times per year. After a brief try, I do no social media. If fans write me, I of course write them back.