All Right v. Alright

Status
Not open for further replies.

mkcbunny

Bufflehead
Registered
Reaction score
According to Merriam-Webster, they're both valid, though "alright" gets some hate mail. I need to use one of 'em in dialogue. As it's a spelling issue not a grammar issue, I'd prefer to make the "correct" choice, but I'm looking at "all right" and it feels too long. Somehow, "alright" seems to fit better.

What's the current concensus on this issue?

Thanks

Silver King

Megalops Erectus
Registered
Reaction score
In dialogue, "alright" would seem to work. The proper form is "all right." I say this with the utmost trepidation, as I'm not an expert, so you may want to wait for a more expert opinion.

JanDarby

Registered
Reaction score
"All right" is the preferred form.

While there's a lot of leeway for informality in dialogue, I wouldn't simply spell something with the less-preferred spelling if it sounds the same either way, which these two do.

Breaking rules in dialogue is more often reserved for colloquial grammar or pronunciation (if you absolutely have to do dialect) than spelling. If someone uses informal or outright wrong grammar while speaking, it says something about his/her character, but if the author, in essence, transcribes his/her words wrong (or at least in the less acceptable version), it doesn't say anything about the character.

Of course, if the character wrote a note to someone and used "alright" (or something that was more blatantly incorrect usage or spelling), it might say something about his character.

JD

ResearchGuy

Resident Curmudgeon
Requiescat In Pace
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.umbachconsulting.com
Silver King said:
In dialogue, "alright" would seem to work. The proper form is "all right." I say this with the utmost trepidation, as I'm not an expert, so you may want to wait for a more expert opinion.