PDA

View Full Version : All Right v. Alright

mkcbunny
07-03-2006, 02:23 AM
According to Merriam-Webster, they're both valid, though "alright" gets some hate mail. I need to use one of 'em in dialogue. As it's a spelling issue not a grammar issue, I'd prefer to make the "correct" choice, but I'm looking at "all right" and it feels too long. Somehow, "alright" seems to fit better.

What's the current concensus on this issue?

Thanks

Silver King
07-03-2006, 03:08 AM
In dialogue, "alright" would seem to work. The proper form is "all right." I say this with the utmost trepidation, as I'm not an expert, so you may want to wait for a more expert opinion.

JanDarby
07-03-2006, 04:50 AM
"All right" is the preferred form.

While there's a lot of leeway for informality in dialogue, I wouldn't simply spell something with the less-preferred spelling if it sounds the same either way, which these two do.

Breaking rules in dialogue is more often reserved for colloquial grammar or pronunciation (if you absolutely have to do dialect) than spelling. If someone uses informal or outright wrong grammar while speaking, it says something about his/her character, but if the author, in essence, transcribes his/her words wrong (or at least in the less acceptable version), it doesn't say anything about the character.

Of course, if the character wrote a note to someone and used "alright" (or something that was more blatantly incorrect usage or spelling), it might say something about his character.

JD

Sandi LeFaucheur
07-03-2006, 04:50 AM
Collins Dictionary says:

alright adv. Not standard. Variant spelling of all right.

I always thought that alright was the correct way, but it seems I'm wrong. Alright is all right, but not as right as all right.

illiterwrite
07-03-2006, 05:46 AM
I always spell it as two words.

ResearchGuy
07-03-2006, 06:30 AM