Celebrating my first bad review

Devil Ledbetter

Come on you stranger, you legend,
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I got my first bad book review and it's a doozy.

rundontwalkaway.jpg

As a shamelessly self-published author, I'm tickled that they think a publisher was involved. My goal is that my books are indistinguishable from trade paperbacks (or traditionally published Kindle books) in quality across the board, so that's actually a compliment. I also love the assertion that think I'm Vonnegut because lol what?

I've never worried much about reviews good or bad, as I took Brene Brown's advice to separate my work from myself and not take criticism or praise personally. But my readership was low enough that all reviews for both books had been 4.5-5 stars. I'd always wondered how that first terrible review would feel. Turns out it feels pretty great.

I'm calling this one a win!

If you have a favorite bad review of your work, please share it here.

(And yes, I already know to never respond to reviews good or bad.)

Maryn

At Sea
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I got mine in a Q&A forum when I attempt to help other writers.

"The worst....
In one of the novels I hated the most the content was fine and I liked exploring it but the execution of the author was just plain BAD.
It was an M/M romance by someone called “Mary Blackburn” or something sorry can't remember if that's correct. My gay friend gave it to me after reading it, he also disliked it. I looked it up after and none of the reviews were very good either. Most were from people who had been given a free copy for an “honest” review and even they didn't seem obligated to be nice. It was like reading something that had been self published. It went in the bin."

None of my published novels were M/M romance, so this was more like a personal attack than a review. I'm more concerned about this person connecting my user name there with my pen name.

mrsmig