Historical Fiction Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Puma

Retired and loving it!
Registered
Reaction score
Historical Fiction Question
First, let me say that I would never have thought of historical fiction as mainstream/contemporary; but I guess this forum is where it goes.

My question: Notable, famous historic people are used with impunity in historical fiction; what about real people who were unknowns? If a story took place almost two hundred years ago and the author uses the real names of the people in the story (and does not defame them), are there any liability issues? Any needs for publicizing an intent to publish so descendants can take a shot at the author? Has anyone had any experience with something like this? Thanks! Puma

kpmcneil22 vbmenu_register("postmenu_632020", true);

http://72.14.209.104/search?hl=en&q...ww.absolutewrite.com/forums/member.php?u=7102

I am not experienced enough to give you a good answer, but in this day and age, lawsuits are the norm. If someone can sue, they will, defame or not, regardless of your intentions. I would be careful using anyone real for any reason.

Not very helpful, I know. I think I remember a similar thread in the novel forum. I will try to find it and link it for you.

Kevin

JenNipps vbmenu_register("postmenu_632426", true);
Common Sense = Not So Common
Mod Squad Member

http://72.14.209.104/search?hl=en&q...www.absolutewrite.com/forums/member.php?u=127

Puma,

Welcome to the Mainstream board. You're partly right about historical, but we've had a few historical discussions in here before, so it's perfectly OK with me.

As to your question, I'll look this evening after I get my daily quota of work done and see if I can find anything that might help you out.

Check it out -> www.jenifernipps.com

I took the pledge. - 13/100

pdr vbmenu_register("postmenu_633082", true);
Writer

Real people
Puma, I'm not a lawyer but I write historical fiction.