Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
Originally posted by caren1701

Now that school's out & I have my first college degree completed, I'm ready to concentrate on my two novels [who needs sleep, right? :)]. I keep seeing advice to seek out recently published first novels to see what's worked for those new authors. Sounds good to me. I'm always happy to find a new author, but am having a little trouble finding first novels in the Women's Fiction genre. Any suggestions will be very welcome. If they're edgy books with contemporary settings, so much the better.

Thanks and Happy Writing! :Sun:

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
Posted by IrishScribbler

The Handmaid's Tale by Margaret Atwood
Disobedience by Jane Hamilton
The Awakening by Kate Chopin
Finding Alice by Melody Carlson (read recently--highly recommended, especially for high school/college age women)
The Bluest Eye by Toni Morrison
The Secret Life of Bees by Sue Monk Kidd
The Mermaid's Chair by Sue Monk Kidd
My Antonia by Willa Cather
Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte
I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings by Maya Angelou

...I could go on and on....PM me if you want more titles.

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com
Posted by Susan Gable

Quote:
Originally Posted by caren1701
Thanks, everyone, for your suggestions! :)

jbayley -- I feel ignorant asking this, but would you please tell me how to find NEXT? I tried Googling it, but didn't get any literary sites. A lot of good books have been recommended, but right now I'm trying to find first novels published in the last year, or two at the most.

NEXT is a line of books put out by Harlequin. Women's fiction because it's not all about a romance. :) Try Taking Back MaryEllen Black by Lisa Childs.