High Powered Agent versus More Personal One?

charles19

Registered
Reaction score
Hi There:

I have recently written a book about spiritual / metaphysical subjects. I have extensive experience publishing magazine articles about such topics (if interested, please visit www.lightfigures.com for an online bibliography and links). So I have experience dealing with editors. But I have decided to get an agent rather than approach editors myself. I have been looking through lists of agents that may be interested in spiritual type subjects, and I have noticed that they work for agencies that are pretty high-powered. It all seems quite impersonal. There is a part of me that would prefer a relationship with an agent who may be less connected but with whom I can feel comfortable. I understand it is a business for both agent and publisher. But it is partly the nature of my writing (spiritual) and my personality that would prefer a more personable approach. I was wondering if anyone has any thoughts about that.

Thanks,

-Charles

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Hi There: