Writing a large SFF series

Rinsler

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm new to the forum so please be gentle!

I've done some searching here and found a single post that perhaps touches on my question, but with no definitive answer.

Here's some background:

I am a new author and am currently writing a SFF series, based around a single MC. It's not a Jack Reacher style series, whereby each book is almost a standalone story in itself, it is a hero's journey with each book leading on from the next. The universe and plot is a big one, and I have the basic outline for... wait for it... eight books, with the climax (of course) in the eighth. Book one is currently being edited at 96k, and book two is in progress at 80k of approx 120k.

I came on this forum to ask "How does one go about querying a whole series like this?", and I have more questions, but a statement I read earlier said that "You'll never sell an 8 book series", which, of course, rang alarm bells.

So, before I continue with my main question, what are your thoughts on this statement I read?

Thanks!

Ryan

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
You won't sell an eight-book series.

You do not query an eight-book series, or a series of any length. You query one book that has the ability to stand alone -- that is, it has a satisfying conclusion to its main plot. It may have threads that allow for a sequel to continue the broader story, but the book you query can't end on a cliffhanger, or lack a satisfying ending of its own.

When you query it, you say it has series potential. If you have an interested agent, who manages to sell your work to a publisher who absolutely loves it and believes it will succeed without question (this is nearly impossible) they may consider a contact that covers two or three books. No one, but no one, is offering you a contract for eight books, That's not a thing, unless you're JKR, in which case you're probably not asking us this question.