Some questions about printing & design

seligman

A friend of mine recently died. He was self-employed in the publishing business selling reference guides to railroad enthusiasts, which is how we became friends in the first place. I am currently talking with the family to see about keeping his business alive.

Here is my dilemma. I'm an economist by trade. The graphic design shouldn't be too difficult as it's mostly charts and tables. I think I can manage this OK. What I lack, however, is the knowledge of printing to know whether or not I'm getting ripped off. Anybody who is an economics geek like myself gets really annoyed in cases like this. :Headbang:

The reference books are 10.5" tall by 4" wide, saddle-stitched. Forgive me as I don't know my paper weights, but the pages are .004" thick and the cover is .010" according to my trusty calipers. Depending on the release, there would be 8 or 12 pages of color, with the books maxing out at 104 pages because of the saddle-stitching limitations.

He would typically do runs of 1500 copies at a time, paying between $2.50 and $3.00 per copy, for a total of $3500-4500 per press run. Like I said earlier, I have no idea if he was getting ripped off or not. While I'm thinking about it, how much more expensive does perfect binding run?

I could use a brief debriefing on the printing industry. Here are the things I'm curious about:
-How much do prices fluctuate across the USA and around the world?
-Does geographical location (relative to say, pulp and paper production facilities) affect the price of printing?
-In general, is the cost savings achieved from using a distant printing company always offset by the higher shipping costs?