Agent for a novel

Muggsie

Registered
Reaction score
What to Do?

I am a published author/illustrator/composer (5 biz books, 3 educational curricula, 1 childrens book, tv commercial jingles, etc). I've had an agent for the last ten years. He brokered my biz books (Prentice, McGraw, etc).

Two years ago I decided to write a novel. It took me 14 months (eight years of research—on and off—before that). It's about 500 pages. Based on my great grandfather's trail diaries. He was one of the original 81 Pony Express riders.

My agent has never read the manuscript. Never. He encouraged me to develop a proposal. I did. It was in color with many photos from the 1860's and copies of newspaper articles about my great grandfather. My agent sent the proposal to nine publishers (Simon Shuster, Lyons Press, Harcourt, Random House, etc.) It took 6 months before everyone had replied. No one wanted to read the manuscript. It was not their genre, they said. I was devastated. My agent said he had other publishers he knew about BUT he had never done fiction before. It wasn't his thing. I was even more devastated. So we parted company. I thought I could do a better job on my own.

Now I have to figure out what to do.
Do I find an agent who specializes in fiction? I tried two. Neither was interested in the genre. (or is it me?)
Do I send query letters that end up in the slush pile unanswered?
Any ideas?

LloydBrown

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.lloydwrites.com
It's not uncommon to have an agent for your nonfiction and a different agent for your fiction. Like the rest of us, agents have their specialties. If he's still selling your nonfiction, I wouldn't take that away from him.

Just look for a new agent for the novel. I don't see why you shouldn't be able to find someone who can sell it.

victoriastrauss

Writer Beware Goddess
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.victoriastrauss.com