How do you know when it's time to part ways with your agent?

AMarshall1022

Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I'm new here, and wanted to start a discussion about a tough topic I've been mulling around. How do you know when it's time to part ways with your agent?

Backstory: I'm a YA fiction author. I've been querying off and on for a few years, but finally landed an agent sixteen months ago with a new manuscript I was excited about. Let's call this agent Bob. Bob was excited too, and we moved really quickly from initial query to full request to revision request to offer of representation within about two weeks. I was thrilled. He was a newer agent, although I wasn't too concerned because he had a good amount of other experience in the book industry. Being that he was new, I actually signed with both him and the head of the agency, so I'm technically co-represented by both. I've only spoken with the head of the agency once, and Bob is the one that works directly with me.

I was impressed with Bob as his feedback was always helpful and he seemed genuinely interested in my vision for the novel and how to best revise to fit that vision. He was very active on Twitter, further convincing me of his commitment to the industry and other authors. I went on submission over a year ago to the first round of editors: about 12 primarily from the biggest publishing houses. He sent me their names so I was kept updated. Though it was turned down, many of the rejections were quite positive, leaving me hopeful for future rounds of submissions.