Confused--Do small presses sometimes us POD technology?

DeniseK

Sockpuppet
Banned
Reaction score
I am a student of this publishing business, I've been collecting links for a couple of years, and trying to learn all I can. But somewhere along the way, I seem to have gotten the impression that small publishers or presses can still be considered traditional publishers because they farm out their printing to POD companies, that the author is not involved financially, like they would be if they were going the regular POD route, paying for the books upfront, the transaction is between the publisher and the printer. Am I wrong or right?

What prompted my question is that I have a list of potential traditional publishers to query for my novel, and I had Zumaya Publishing as one of them, but then I saw on another writer's site that they were considered POD. However, when I checked them out before that at P & E, they are simply listed as a book publisher. When I brought this up in the other forum, someone copied the section of their contract that mentions print-on-demand. If not for just happening to run across that post, I would have assumed all along that they were traditional, and might have assumed my information about small publishers using POD technology was correct.

I was pretty confident that I was only listing traditional publishers to query, but now I am a bit concerned and need a deeper understanding.

jchines

Got the hang of it, here
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.jimchines.com
Print on Demand is a technology, nothing more and nothing less. It doesn't necessarily mean anything about the publisher.

Almost all of the scams use PoD, but so do some legitimate small presses. (Wildside is the first that comes to mind. Wheatland Press is another, I believe.)