Should the characters be using protection?

rhymegirl

It's a New Year!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Do they HAVE TO?

Since I'm new to this genre, and since I've been doing some reading, I'm wondering what all of you think about this question.

I noticed in the novel I'm reading, every time the man and woman have sex, he rolls on a condom first. Now, I understand he's trying to protect the woman from getting pregnant, but I"m sure he's also trying to protect himself and her from getting STDs/Aids.

The problem with this approach in writing (to me) is that it ruins the spontaneity and fun. Is the only way around it to write about a couple who are married, monogamous, don't have to worry about pregnancy anymore or diseases???

rpl

Registered
Reaction score
Personally, I think it's sexy when a man is considerate enough to use a condom...but maybe I'm just weird. Also, I don't write erotica, so who cares about my opinion? :D In my novel, in the first sex scene I mention the condom. In later ones (with the same characters) it goes without saying.

PattiTheWicked

Unleashing Hell.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.pattiwigington.com
If you let the reader know beforehand that they're going to use a condom, you don't necessarily have to describe it being used.

She tugged at his shirt with her teeth.
"Wait," he gasped. "I don't have any condoms."
Without pulling away, she reached back, digging into her purse. "I do," she said, holding up the foil package with a wink.

Gillhoughly

Grumpy writer and editor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Getting blitzed at Gillhoughly's Reef, Haleakaloha
What PattiTheWicked said!