Software for Editors to Track Assigments/Writers

adogil

Recently, I was hired at a website publishing company to work as a managing editor. Although I'm new to the editing field, I know how to edit. (I was a freelance editor/writer for 10 years.)

The reason I'm writing is because there are no other editors at this company. I have no experience managing a large group of freelance writers. I am finding it challenging to track all their assignment/payment/scheduling/personal information. As a result, I am looking for some software that can help me with this.

Is there anyone out there who can recommend some software to perform these functions?

Thank you for your time.

Jamesaritchie

Registered
Reaction score
adogil said:
Recently, I was hired at a website publishing company to work as a managing editor. Although I'm new to the editing field, I know how to edit. (I was a freelance editor/writer for 10 years.)

The reason I'm writing is because there are no other editors at this company. I have no experience managing a large group of freelance writers. I am finding it challenging to track all their assignment/payment/scheduling/personal information. As a result, I am looking for some software that can help me with this.

Is there anyone out there who can recommend some software to perform these functions?

Thank you for your time.

I use MS Excel. It's pretty good for keeping track of anything.

Fahim

Mad coder, lazy writer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.farook.org
adogil said:

I actually wrote my own app to track submissions to editors but don't know of anything offhand which helps editors keep track of writers ... besides the roll-your-own stuff like an Excel spreadsheet or an Access database :p However, if there is enough demand for it, I wouldn't mind creating an app like that ... should be fairly easy to convert what I have for submission management into doing writer/assignment management ...

Fahim

Mad coder, lazy writer
Registered
Reaction score