R&R Followup-- Advice Appreciated

SheWritesIt

Registered
Reaction score
Hi! I begin querying my non-fiction project a couple of months ago. I queried one agent I'd *love* to work with. She quickly got back with me and asked for the proposal. I sent that. Then she let me know that she forwarded it to her colleague who represented a similar author I mentioned in my query letter and that her colleague was "intrigued". Later in the week, the colleague emailed me and let me know that she was intrigued, but the proposal was really not ready to send to editors. She made some clear suggestions for what needed to be fixed and invited me to resend if I revised it. I'm a total novice and it truly was not ready. So I emailed her back, thanked her and said I would be happy to revise. I took a month and rewrote the proposal, including the sample chapter taking special consideration to her comments. So, after one month of revising, I sent the revised version back to her. Since then I haven't heard anything at all.

Mid week will mark one month since I sent the revised proposal. The agency's submission guidelines state one month is fine to nudge. So I was thinking of sending her another email later this week and just following up with her. Any thoughts or advice on that? I desperately want to work with this agency and I think they'd be perfect. The wait has been driving me thoroughly insane. I want it SO BAD.

Anyway, I'm sure you all can relate and I would love to hear similar experiences and any advice for followup you have to offer. Thanks!

Aggy B.

Not as sweet as you think
Registered
Reaction score
If the agency works collectively (which is seems like they might) they may all discuss potential clients which can sometimes take time. Also, there's a balance with positive reactions, that sometimes they take longer than a knee-jerk "No thanks."