Living With A GPS Tracker

Alsikepike

Registered
Reaction score
I'm writing a story that involves human test subjects being outfitted with GPS trackers by a foundation that's in the business of making super-soldiers. (Long story) Anyway, a rival organization captures some of these subjects, and they're unable to remove the trackers immediately for reasons I won't go into. My question is, what are the logistics of transporting a subject from place to place without alerting the foundation to their location? My first thought was to use a signal jammer or faraday cages for transport and storage respectively, but I'm not an expert on either. How long does it take to set up a faraday cage? Can RF jammers be detected from the signals they emit? These are just a few of the questions I have, but the main one I have is, is this idea plausible? Is there a better alternative I'm not seeing? Help would really be appreciated if anybody has insight on these kinds of things.

Tazlima

Registered
Reaction score
Hmm. I don't know if this is helpful for your purposes, but a common misconception in animal microchipping is that the microchip can be used as a tracking device. In actuality, microchips function basically like a tag that can't be lost. You have a scanner that you wave over the microchipped area of the animal, and if a chip is present, the scanner will read it and display the ID number, after which you have to contact the manufacturer to track down the vet it was sold to, who in turn will contact the client associated with that animal. The system depends on people being honest enough, and knowledgable enough, upon finding a lost animal, to bring it in and have it scanned.