REVERSE ENGINEERING IRON AGE TECHNOLOGY QUESTION

Creative Cowboy

A Reader Is A Writer's Best Friend.
Registered
Reaction score
Website
twitter.com
If a late Neolithic man were given Steel, like the story of fire from Prometheus, could he reverse engineer it? How would he go about doing it?

This is a question for a WiP so well-reasoned, fact-based, abstract speculation is welcome. I have no background in science/chemistry whatsoever (or would my readers) so please refrain from being too technical with me.

I'll check back next week for answers. I would appreciate your help.

Al X.

Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.authoralexryan.com
The key to reverse engineering steel is to be able to identify that iron (1% +/-) had been added to it to form an alloy. The technology to do so was unavailable during that period and has only been available in the last couple of centuries to my knowledge. Perhaps if our man happened upon several smelt iron samples coupled with raw alloy materials laying around, and associated the extra hard sample as being the one next to the powdered coal, he might figure it out. But, that isn't exactly reverse engineering.

Thomas Vail

What?
Registered
Reaction score
No, not without a lot of extra help because part of the dividing line between the neolithic and the bronze age is the development of metal working. Unless this person is living right on the dividing line between the eras, the technology to meaningfully work metal period is nascent to non-existent, and you're a few intermediary processes away from the technology for working iron, much less steel.

neandermagnon

Nolite timere, consilium callidum habeo!
Registered
Reaction score