Deep Sea Fishing

Status
Not open for further replies.

elzoria

Registered
Reaction score
Hello, I am trying to get information about deep sea fishing (in modern times).

What kind of boat would you use?
What kind of fishing gear would you use?
What kind of fish would one catch in the deep sea, possibly in the Gulf of Mexico?
This would not be for commercial fishing, only for entertainment.

Also, anything about shark bait (not dogs and cats!).

Any help would be great :O)

Minister

Unpredictable preacher
Registered
Reaction score
In the South-East, once again - of Michigan this t
Website
www.tominister.blogspot.com
Well, I've done this a few times and loved it, so I'll take a stab here. I'm not a pro by any means, though, so you're just getting my observations.

First, there's a lot of range. I gather you're fishing in the Gulf of Mexico, which is where I've done most of my deep sea fishing. You can go on a big charter boat with 50 other people, or you can be a private boat owner with a motorboat and a Saturday off. You can target the big game fish, which seems to mean trolling, and therefore not much chance of catching anything else. Or you can park in a good spot and fish for something to eat. I prefer the second option -- you've got a much better shot of catching something, and still a pretty good chance of catching something fun. The times I've gone have been on a medium sized motor boat (comfortable for four to six people), but with two heavy duty engines (the best fishing is often a pretty good ways from shore).

As to gear, you'll mostly want heavy rods, although it can be pretty exciting to catch a big fish on small gear. Since it's deep sea, you'll need reels that will hold a good bit of line, preferably of a heavy test weight. For best results, you'll mostly be using cut bait.