INFORMATION ABOUT BOT FIGHTING High voltage electric discharge

NicoleScripting

Registered
Reaction score
My character has to win a bot fight and she's super smart. Unfortunately, her writer is not super smart and the closest I ever got to bot fighting was when I attended votech for graphic design and I had to go into the engineer building to ask them what color they wanted their vinyl sticker for the robot van to be.

I read that most competitions do not permit high voltage electric discharge... How would one go about doing that? More specifically, if she was going into a shop to ask for the parts to make that happen, what would she be asking for?

OR is it something that you do with the parts you already have? If so, how does one do that?

Mark HJ

Cat whisperer
Registered
Reaction score
Website
markhuntleyjames.wordpress.com
I'm not an expert on bot fighting, but the first question that springs to mind is what do you hope to achieve with a high voltage discharge? Presumably, if you could get it to pass through the internals of the opponent you might fry the electronics, but I assume most bots have a metal shell that would make this difficult. The first thing I would worry about is really good insulation because on your bot the high voltage stuff will already be inside the metal shell. Even if you get that right, those high voltage discharges could still induce voltage spikes inside your own bot, enough to disrupt control or damage the electronics.