Can it be done?

Delilah J. Anders

Registered
Reaction score
Hi all! I am a newbie around these parts and while I learn and participate, I had question you might could help me with.

I've been reading tons of tips and advice for query writing, and making notes along the way. I feel like I have a pretty solid query written, but there's one thing that is giving me pause.

When I started writing my book, I didn't anticipate it to be as long as it is. About 3/4 of the way through, I realized that if it were to be picked up, a publisher would want to split it up into two maybe three books. In fact, one publisher that wanted to publish it and work with me said they would divide it into a three book release. I, being the newbie, didn't know that this publisher was what is considered a vanity one, and that pulled me out of the running on that one. What I have seen in advice is to NOT sell your book as a series. I have seen also that you don't want to do that in such a way that only part of it is written, with a "more to come" addendum. This story in particular is finished, however, I do have plans for two more for the "series" .. from different perspectives with other gaps in background. I would only ever mention that if they wanted to work with what I currently have finished, simply because they aren't complete.

I have mulled over a long while the possibility of being told to cut it down to a "normal" size, but I don't see a way to do this. Also, from the multiple beta reads I have gotten feedback from, they don't see how I would be able to remove parts of the story either. Reading it as a single book in its current size was also reported to go quickly and not feel as long as it actually is.

I guess my question is, when I give the closing paragraph with the title and word count etc, is it ok to say" XYZ is a (genre) series with (wordcount)" ? Or how should I approach this?

Thanks so much for your time and help here!

D

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered