The Novel

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kittyleroy

Registered
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I've always called it The Novel. I'm a newbie - an artist, writer, traveller, wild west nut intrigued by science, and renaissance soul - and I've been needing my novel critiquing forever (30 years to be precise!). The story of my western novel goes like this: I'm a wild west enthusiast (www.kitty-le-roy.co.uk) who dons guns and breeches at living history camps in the UK, and I've been writing my novel since the birth of my daughter, 32 years ago, on and off. The writing of it helped keep me sane during young parenthood and depression. It's called Alias Jeannie Delaney, and it's the life story of a devastating cowgirl/outlaw/jailbird/deputy/rancher/mayor who's the fastest gun in the west and also bisexual. I've been very self conscious and embarrassed about the subject matter, but after my recovery from depression, starting three years ago, I decided it was time to get it out there.

I've been posting outline and chapters on Facebook and receiving excellent critiques, advice and encouragement, but a writing friend reminded me that posting online is considered 'publishing' by some potential publishers, so they would never take me on. It's a rather grey area, apparently. Anyway, I've decided I will probably e-publish, or self publish, and a good option would be to join a private critique group, so here I am! I have written the whole plot, but it's very much a beginning, muddle and end. Having posted on Facebook, I'm assured that it's not rubbish and not to be embarrassed about it! All I need to know now is what my next step here is. (And that's not good English, is it? :-D!). All I need to know is, what is my next step here? (That sounds odd too...).

Jo alias Kitty