My short story is out in the world!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ellis Clover

watching The Office again
Registered
Reaction score
The anthology featuring my story 'Abacus' came out this week -- yay! I just received my 'author's copy' (teehee!) in the mail, which is very exciting.

It's my first publication (double yay!), and even better, the anthology is a fundraiser for the Save the Tasmanian Devil Appeal here in Australia! So that's the super-good stuff!

The not-so-super is that my name AND occupation are incorrectly spelled in my author bio. :( I can see how they missed 'Cover' (it's an actual word, after all, and even I didn't catch it at first), but is there even such a thing as a 'copyrighter'? (AW's spellcheck says no.)

So although this IS a momentous, landmark occasion in my Life as A Writer, I guess my excitement feels a little more subdued than I'd hoped. Okay, expected. I'm even feeling reluctant to spruik the book to my friends and fam... Those errors just seem so... amateur?

Anyway, I am excited - I am! - and I'm also feeling inspired to forge ahead with one of the new stories I've been mulling over for far too long, which is a good outcome in itself. This is my first publication, but I'm determined it won't be my last!

Last edited:

muse

standing on head, typing one-handed...
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I can understand being upset about the errors, but this is a momentous occasion. Celebrate! Tell all your family and friends and let them celebrate with you.

Congratulations. :hooray:

AustinF

Banned
Reaction score
The anthology featuring my story 'Abacus' came out this week -- yay! I just received my 'author's copy' (teehee!) in the mail, which is very exciting.

It's my first publication (double yay!), and even better, the anthology is a fundraiser for the Save the Tasmanian Devil Appeal here in Australia! So that's the super-good stuff!