thoughts on fanmail!!

fairphyllis

Registered
Reaction score
Helloooo :)

I'm a total newbie here so apologies if there is a better place for this thread! I haven't quite got my bearings yet but I like this forum a lot.

OK, so I have never written fanmail to a writer in my entire life because I am too shy and never want to bother my idols with my inconsequential thoughts :( But tonight something just came over me and I was feeling so so inspired by many things and wrote this ridiculously long rambling email to one of my favourite and most adored writers. I'm kind of glad I did because I had a sudden sense of how short life is and that I can't go through it without meaningfully thanking the people who have made it richer and she really really has. But but but it was such fangirl spew that I now feel super embarrassed and kind of sad like I should remain in my little shell forever.

Do you guys write fanmail to your favourites? Do they ever write back? What have been some good experiences (or bad, or neutral!) you have had in striking up a correspondence with a writer?

Dennis E. Taylor

Get it off! It burns!
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I am actually on the other side of this question. I've been getting a lot of posts, on Facebook, on my website, and on twitter. I can't speak for every writer in the universe, but personally I get a huge kick out of it and I read every single one. So I wouldn't worry. The main message is "me like book", and that's hard to take the wrong way.

Maggie Maxwell

Making Einstein cry since 1994
Registered
Reaction score
Website
thewanderingquille.blogspot.com
I've written bits of fanmail twice. Once, when an author whose book I love followed me back on Twitter. I figured since the avenue of communication was open, I'd send her a PM and just thank her for the book and how much it did for me (writing guide). She responded very pleasantly and that was that.