• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

BETA SWAP - YA Paranormal fantasy - Extractors

Status
Not open for further replies.

NightMaster

Registered
Reaction score
Hey all!

I've been writing for the past 15 years, but I've never gone full CP/Beta, so looking to do that with my latest project, Extractors. It would be great to start if I could get some feedback on the first 5 or 6 chapters of the book, then we go from there. Happy to swap work, so please get in touch and let's chat projects!

Extractors is a YA paranormal fantasy, I've included some info below:

Quick pitch -

When insomniac Matt Crawley turns seventeen it is time for him to learn the family business of Extraction, the process of removing the soul from recently dead murderers so they cannot return as spirits to torment the living.

Excerpt from chapter one -

I was twelve when I first saw a ghost. She was tall and slender and stood at the foot of my bed. I wasn’t scared, my parents had warned me that some day it would happen, but I felt a little uneasy as she watched me with her black, expressionless eyes.
Compared to what I’d see throughout the following years, she was nothing. It would be like comparing a paper cut to a severed arm, but for the twelve year old me seeing a ghost was new and I had no idea what the hell was about to happen.
‘Mum!’ I called out. ‘Mum! Come in here!’
I sat up and pushed my back tight against the wall. The spirit smiled at me but I didn’t smile back.
‘Mum!’