Submit to a Publishing House via a Contact, or Seek an Agent?

Edwardian

Registered
Reaction score
Firstly, I am an unpublished author who is on the point of completing my first novel. I have a friend who used to work for a large publishing house and who has maintained contacts with people there. He has offered to call his contact/s to ask them to take a look at my manuscript. However, he wonders if I might get better terms going through an agent who will much better understand contracts and terms than I could. At the same time, going direct to the publisher does seem like an opportunity too good to pass up, even if it comes to nothing. I don't mind reading up about contracts and I am capable of being professional when dealing with an editor and a publishing house. What do you think?

Secondly, as I understand it, normally it is perfectly okay to submit to multiple agents. When submitting to a publisher, can I also submit to agents at the same time? Should I inform them that I am also submitting to agents? Should I give them a deadline for looking at my manuscript before I submit to agents? Excuse my ignorance on this. I have no idea what is considered acceptable.

lizmonster

Possibly A Mermaid Queen
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
elizabethbonesteel.com
Not sure where you're located, but this is my experience for the US:

1) Yes, it's absolutely expected that you'll be doing multiple submissions to agents. Any agent who expects an exclusive query will say so on their web site (I ran into a few).

2) If even your friend with the contacts is questioning whether you'd get a better deal with an agent, I would strongly suggest you not take them up on their offer.