Need help with a hospital scene

JackieB

Registered
Reaction score
Hello. Anyone here has any experience working in a hospital? I need to write a scene where a new, inexperienced nurse (or an aide) 'saves the day' by proposing a solution to a sudden crisis with some patient. The doctor/another nurse is unavailable, so she makes a decision, and her actions save the patient. Could anyone perhaps share a story or a specific example of such a problem and solution? (I have zero experience in this field...) Thanks!

Bolero

Registered
Reaction score
I'm not a medical professional, but I am unconvinced by the scenario.
First question - you say "nurse" - do you mean a trainee on day 1, or a fully qualified nurse on day 1? If the latter, they might be in a new job, but they would have had plenty of hands on experience already.
Who is she proposing the solution to? If there is no other doctor or nurse around, who is she telling to do stuff?

Alternative suggestion - a total beginner who knows CPR, sees a patient on a trolley who is waiting for scans/to be seen, in a waiting room, just got off the bus to walk over to outpatients, no other medical person in immediate vicinity. The patient has some sort of health failure that can be solved, or staved off, by properly applied CPR. Can still save the day and doesn't involve anything that will take a lot of explaining.
Over to a medical pro to provide the health problem. :)

Electrocution is one, it just occurred to me - and step one is turn off the power before touching the casualty.

Last edited:

Tsu Dho Nimh

Registered
Reaction score
What does this have to do for your plot? What are you trying to set up or show in the character?

Give us that and we can help you out better with the right kind of incident.

I can think of one that did NOT happen.