Murder at sea, Victorian era

CWatts

down the rabbit hole of research...
Registered
Reaction score
I have a wealthy American first-class passenger killing a German steerage immigrant aboard a British steamer in the middle of the Atlantic, 1871. This is witnessed by two women steerage passengers (French and Irish) and a black American sailor. So yeah, he's going to get away with it....

I'm looking for how this might be investigated on board, and then what legal avenues are possible once they land in New York. Right now I have the man strangled, and possibly thrown overboard. Victim was known as a drunkard and so they could play this off as an accident. This is part of a larger conspiracy though, so he could just disappear from the records and the authorities deny he even existed.

stephenf

Registered
Reaction score
hi
I'm not an expert , but as I understand it . The captain has the responsibility and authority over everybody on his ship . The captain can order passenger to locked in their cabins , some ships had cells that the captain could use if needed . If the ship is British registered, the Jurisdiction would be British when at sea . Because the ship will dock in New York , the captain would report the crime to the American police . The ship would become a crime scene and would come under American jurisdiction when the ship docked .

Last edited:

dpaterso

Also in our Discord and IRC chat channels
Staff member
Super Moderator
Registered
Reaction score
Website
derekpaterson.net
Oooh interesting thoughts.

I'm thinking the witnesses would convey their concerns to whatever member of the crew they communicate with -- the purser or third officer or similar rank, who has the list of all passengers aboard, including steerage? -- with the hope he will pass this up the command chain.