• Read this stickie before posting.

• In order to reduce the number of new members requesting a Beta reader before they're really ready for one, we've instituted a 50 post requirement before you can start a thread seeking a Beta reader.
    • You can still volunteer to Beta for someone else; just please don't request someone to Beta for you until you're more familiar with the community and our members.

Beta Swap YA Fantasy 70k

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmtruesd

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Hi everyone! I'm back and reading to tackle my first round of beta reads for my current WIP. Before I tell you a little about the manuscript, I'll tell a little about myself and why I think I make a good beta reader :)

First of all, I graduated with an English degree. While in college, I actually worked for a published author in my town as his copyeditor. I even managed to squeak my way into a few acknowledgements, which thrilled my grandparents :). Grammar is my thing. Between my day job as a Language Arts teacher and editing my attorney husband's court documents at night, I get a lot of practice and truly enjoy it. If it's a close read that you need, I'm your girl.

If you're looking for someone to do a basic read of your manuscript, I can do that too! Since I'm an English teacher, I feel I have a good grasp on what young adults enjoy reading. In the end, you tell me what you need from my beta read, and I'll do my best to deliver! I've never not completed a beta read, and some of the stories I've given feedback on have gone on to become published novels.

I would love to swap with anything Young Adult. I don't care about the genre-- but I do enjoy books with a romantic subplot. If you read the summary below and are interested in reading my manuscript, send me a message. We can exchange a couple chapters and see if our manuscripts and beta-styles "click."