Published author with poor sales querying new project

Status
Not open for further replies.

midazolam

Registered
Reaction score
I was wondering if anyone has been in this situation or could offer advice. My debut was a "failure" according to my agent based on sales numbers, and the publisher rejected my option book a few months back, so I'm wondering what to do now. I'm not all that enthused about the project we submitted, so I'm thinking about writing something new and possibly parting ways with my agent, since our tastes have diverged over the years. He is still willing to represent me, but I'm not technically under contract with him.

Any advice on this front? Is it better to write in a whole new genre or continue in the vein of what I wrote before? My debut got good reviews, it just didn't sell many copies for various reasons. Would a new agent ever take a chance on someone labeled a "failure" by their previous publisher? Should I reinvent myself with a pseudonym (semi-serious question)? Is my writing career over?

Sigh.

Aggy B.

Not as sweet as you think
Registered
Reaction score
Just because your publisher didn't take your second book doesn't mean you're a failure. Especially if you're seeing issues with that particular project.

Lack of passion shows, unfortunately, and there's not a lot you can do about it. Except, of course, make certain you pick your next project based on what you want to do and not just what seems like a smart move. If that's exploring a different genre and possibly looking for a new agent, then that's what you should do. If it means writing a new project in your established genre and keeping the agent you're with now, then that's what you should do.