Finger Printing and DNA

Purplesnow

Registered
Reaction score
Hey Guys,

If I was an MI5 officer, would my DNA / Finger prints be kept on file?

If a dead body turned up and they had no idea who it was, is such information kept else where?

Thanks

Claire :)

cornflake

practical experience, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Yes to the fingerprints -- I'd presume yes to the DNA but I'm not in England so check with someone else.

Is what information kept elsewhere from what?

Purplesnow

Registered
Reaction score
I've got a dead body and I need to find the ID, so I out the finger prints onto the computer to check the finger print data base. Does everyones finger prints go on this database. Or are things like that as in M15 officers finger prints saved on a different file so to speak...

Thanks
C

cornflake

Registered
Reaction score
Ah.

There's not one db, there are several - IDENT, INTERPOL's (whatever it's called), there's an EU DNA database I believe and I think the U.S. looped in as well... I'm not sure how connected an individual ME office's system is, but I'd presume it'd be tied in, at least to locals.

jclarkdawe

Feeling lucky, Query?
Registered
Reaction score
Your answer gets to be very complicated because of security and privacy concerns. For example, the US military takes DNA from all members of the military. But this DNA is a private database, not available for any other purpose than determining the identity of military members who die in accidents and combat connected to the military. In other words, a soldier killed in a car accident will not be identified by the military's DNA database. However, the military's fingerprint file, by and large, is available in identifying someone.

Some members of the CIA and I'm assuming MI5 are not in any accessible database.

What does your story need? And there's not many people that know this stuff. I can present plausible scenarios in a lot of ways on this stuff.

Jim Clark-Dawe

Purplesnow

Registered
Reaction score