Broken bones - untreated

efreysson

Closer than ever
Registered
Reaction score
My WIP has a character taken prisoner, and both his kneecaps broken to prevent him from escaping. By the time he appears in the story he has been in this state for four days, being forced to serve as a group's pilot.

Is a person sort-of able to stagger around with broken kneecaps, if given support? Are there any other health hazards, besides "This really hurts!"? Or would the pain subside after a while?

Prince Anpiel

Registered
Reaction score
I am no doctor, but yeah this would be significantly worse than severe pain. I have seen a lot of knee injuries in my family.
The pain would get so much worse if you tried to stand that you would be incapable of staggering around if both knee caps were busted.
If you are not careful bone can be infected when injured too.
Bone chips can get moved into veins and kill the crap out of you.
That is going to heal really funny and he is never going to walk particularly well. It will also heal all full of arthritis and crap.
Really your hero can be saved by a convenient plot, but generally speaking his physical life has been ruined.

Lauram6123

Registered
Reaction score
This is coming from Radiologist husband:

It would be difficult to walk because you couldn't forcibly extend your legs. You'd have swing each leg forward from the hip, which would be very difficult to do with both of them broken. This person would basically have to be supported on both sides or carried around to go anywhere.

It would hurt badly, of course, but perhaps after a few days, the brain might not perceive it as acutely.

jimmymc

Benefactor Member
Registered
Reaction score
Pilot... as in flying an airplane? Not with broken knees. All four limbs are busy in the cockpit.

efreysson

Closer than ever
Registered
Reaction score
If you are not careful bone can be infected when injured too.
Bone chips can get moved into veins and kill the crap out of you.