PDA

View Full Version : Pricing tactic: Title new book with same title as successful author

field19
09-28-2016, 04:44 PM
I had published my book on Amazon in July within days after I learned that a mega successful author was releasing her new book in November with the identical title. They are completely different story lines.

So I thought that I would run a promotion where I would drop the price of my book to 99 cents the day of her book's release and extend it through the Thanksguving Day weekend.

Do you think this will do any good for my book sales? Will I be hearing from her attorneys if I go though with this?

Ravioli
09-28-2016, 04:52 PM
I'm no lawyer, but I think that as long as you can prove you chose your title before she came out with hers, you should be fine. Although your discount timing does make it look suspicious.

EvieDriver
09-28-2016, 05:05 PM
I wouldn't discount it, TBH. There are only so many titles we humans can come up with. Stick to your guns, and I'm sure everything will be fine. :)

field19
09-28-2016, 05:10 PM
It didn't occur to me that

field19
09-28-2016, 05:30 PM
I meant to say that I saw two other books with the identical title. Do you think I should raise the price instead during that period?

Bacchus
09-28-2016, 05:38 PM
days after I learned that a mega successful author was releasing her new book in November with the identical title

I meant to say that I saw two other books with the identical title

What's the title of your book??? The Saurus? Diction Ary??

Maryn
09-28-2016, 05:53 PM
So you're trying to trick buyers who want that super-popular author's new book out that day into buying your book with the same title and a much lower price? I don't see this as a tactic that will do you any good. People are likely to be angry with you for the bait-and-switch, rightfully so. You can expect complaints to Amazon and highly negative reviews, whether the book merits them or not.