PDA

View Full Version : Story, Character, and World Happenings (for Fantasy Fiction)

TimYeti
09-28-2016, 03:21 AM
Hello folks!

I'm new here on the forums, but please don't let my low post count fool you, I've been writing for several years and now that I'm free from college I'm looking to write more serious works, things that I hope to publish. That being said, I've run into something that I've never encountered before in my for-fun writings.

Let me preface this by saying that what I'm planning to do is start up a Web-Serial that has an ongoing story that I can keep adding to until I decide to conclude it. I know this isn't the traditional way Web-Serials are done, but I've heard/read that the Web-Serial genre can take the form of something resembling an ongoing series rather than a novel. The main concept I had in mind was to structure the whole thing in a series of story arcs, each with a main conflict/antagonist/antagonistic force that needs to be overcome to move forward.

Now that that's said, onto my question (or, discussion topic, rather).

How do you guys feel about static characters?

I remember there being a time when (for me) the term static character was looked down upon as something that is bad. That, however, was a high school mentality of mine, and I'm beginning to wonder how bad that practice truly is? I am well aware that authors have managed to pull off static characters in the past (I think Sherlock Holmes when I think of a static character), and I know the pitfall is that they can easily be written to be uninteresting, so the true trial in writing a static character is writing one that has flaws, wants, desires, and many levels to their personality to make them more fully realized as an individual.