PDA

View Full Version : Cover Art cost?

H.G.Aguilar
09-25-2016, 12:00 PM
I'm wondering what is a reasonable cost for commissioning a piece of art for a book cover? Does a publishing company do this for you?

Wonder what the best-paid artists get?

Old Hack
09-25-2016, 12:08 PM
If you're published by a good trade publisher then no, you don't have to pay for this or for anything else related to your book's publication.

If you're self publishing your book then you, as publisher, have to commission and pay for your jacket artwork and design.

I'll move this from General Publishing Discussions to our Art And Design room, where there are more discussions on the subject and you'll get more precise answers about the costs involved of doing it yourself.

gtbun
09-25-2016, 01:04 PM
It depends a) what you're looking for and b) the quality of the artist. As a professional designer, I charge around 300 for a book cover ($400) and in the region of 150 - 200 for an ebook cover. At times, when I do low-budget work, this can be lower. But then I don't provide pre-made covers and others do (though they regularly look pretty bad) and these come across as much cheaper. When commissioning illustrators and artists for clients, the prices vary wildly based on what they're doing, a simple illustration can be as little as 40 while a more detailed painting might cost just as much as the cover. The issue with cost is that very few professional and skilled designers would drop to these prices, on account of it really underselling their work, so many people get stuck either doing it themselves or hiring under-qualified designers/illustrators for a noticeable drop in quality.