Two years later, I'm a full-time writer

lorna_w

Hybrid Grump
Registered
Reaction score
In two years of self-publishing, I've sold just under 40,000 books. Most of these sales have been through Amazon.

What I did to sell that many books: Write and upload. I answer fan mail and have a mailing list. I have a free, simple website. That's almost everything I do.

Except for a polite request in my books’ end matter, I don’t solicit reviews, nor do I have an ARC team. I haven’t worked at expanding my mailing list through FB ads. I only visit social media once a week, for an hour. I’ve never been in a multi-author bundle. I don't give away books. I don't advertise. I know that the most successful people do all this, and it might increase my sales by 10 or 20% to follow in their footsteps, but I'd rather write an extra book every year instead because I enjoy writing more than I enjoy social media and PR. My interiors are not designed beyond five minutes of formatting in Word.

The first six months of this, I grossed $1K total and learned from making a few minor mistakes. The second six months, I made $6K, an income I would have been satisfied with indefinitely, as it rivaled my midlist author pals’ in trade publishing. The second year, I made more money at writing than I ever thought I could and more than I’d ever earned at a straight job. The third year...who knows? Income could go up or down, though I suspect I’ll continue to earn a living as a writer of fiction for at least a little while longer.

Regrets? Only one: Not doing this in 2011-12 when I first realized how well it was working for others. I hesitated because I was afraid, hesitated because I listened to the wrong advice, and my fear cost me years, frustration, and money.