Gun question/shot

Status
Not open for further replies.

Branwyn

Print release:Sept.1,'09
Registered
Reaction score
Would a hunting rifle be a 32 caliber? Also would it do enough damage to pierce the brachial artery(in the upper arm of a twenty-ish male) causing a major (fatal) bleed.That is providing no medical attention is given.

I know that artery pumps out a lot of blood quickly, I'm questioning the rifle's ability to inflict the wound.

ColoradoGuy

I've seen worse.
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.chrisjohnsonmd.com
I'm no gun expert, but I am an ICU physician. Even a .22 caliber can kill if it hits the right spot. I don't think that the brachial artery is the spot to hit, though. It is not a huge vessel. True, one could bleed to death if the brachial were ripped open, but simple pressure on the hole would stop the bleeding, particularly because the brachial sits next to a hard bony surface to squeeze against and most folks know enough to do that even if they never took first aid. It might work if you made your character unconscious, perhaps from a head injury as well, so that he bled out while lying there alone.

If you want your character to bleed to death, I'd pick a bigger vessel. The biggest ones are in the chest, but if you want to stay outside the chest or abdomen you could hit the carotid artery (plus/minus the nearby internal jugular vein) in the neck or the femoral artery and vein in the groin crease. The latter of these is tough to hold good pressure on to stop it from bleeding.

Still, I can assure you that very weird things happen in traumatic injury, and it would not be obviously absurd to bleed to death from a brachial injury if that is what the rest of your plot demands.

I hope that this helps you.

Last edited:

Cathy C

Ooo! Shiny new cover!
Kind Benefactor
Absolute Sage
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.cathyclamp.com