Rewrites to Rejection

MatthewWuertz

shadow magic, FTW
Registered
Reaction score
Website
www.matthewwuertz.com
I've been submitting short stories to magazines for over 20 years, but something happened today that surprised and disappointed me. And I'm wondering if it should have.

Suppose you submit a short story for publication to a magazine, and the editor asks for a rewrite request. The editor doesn't accept the work; it's just a rewrite request. It might lead to an acceptance; it might lead to a rejection. You complete the rewrite request and are asked for another under the same condition (so rewrite #2). The cycle then repeats. And let's say these rewrite requests are of the magnitude of adding new characters, adding new scenes, changing a decent amount of the structure (not punctuation or grammatical errors). So two questions:

1. If you've been in this situation - what is the largest number of rewrite requests (and rewrites) you've completed for an editor only to have it turn into a rejection?

2. Whether you've been in this situation or not - what do you believe is a reasonable number of rewrite cycles for an editor to request before rejecting a work?

Treehouseman

Registered
Reaction score
For short stories, I've never heard of more than one rewrite request before they'll flat out say no. Maybe two if the idea is fantastic but you can't pull it off and they REALLY want to help, or they have to fill a themed antho at short notice.

novels are a little different - I've heard someone doing 9 rewrites!

Fruitbat

Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I don't recall being asked to do more than one rewrite. But I'd probably pass on the offer you describe the first time around because it sounds like the editor actually wants a different story than the one you've written. I'm not picky about small changes but I do enjoy writing my own vision, not "to order."