Do we have any gerontologists?

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
I have a RL question about a lady in m-i-l's nursing home...

neandermagnon

Nolite timere, consilium callidum habeo!
Registered
Reaction score
My cousin's a manager of a care home. I have some very limited work experience with old people plus a degree in human sciences and I'm qualified to teach biology up to A-level (equivalent to first year university in the USA). I can have a go at answering the question but can't guarantee I'll know the answer.

mccardey

Self-Ban
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Oh, thank you.

There's an old woman on the high care ward who has dementia (I suppose). I don't know her - I saw her for the first time the other day because I heard what I thought was a little girl crying, and tracked it down. It was this lady, who was sobbing inconsolably because, she told me, the people had just told her that her mummy was dead and her daddy was dead and now she'd have to stay here for the rest of her life. It was just the saddest thing I'd ever seen - and I wondered what's the best way to deal with this? I'd have thought she was stuck in a memory-age of about five or six - but I didn't know whether to try to distract her, or listen, or what. In the end, I just held her hand and let her talk and tried to make comforting noises till she was calmer and then talked about her blanket.

Is there a better way of dealing with it, if it happens again? Poor little blossom. She was heart-broken and I think scared.

Last edited:

mrsmig

Write. Write. Writey Write Write.
Staff member
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score
Nothing to add. Just :cry:

Maryn

Sees All
Staff member
Super Moderator
Kind Benefactor
Registered
Reaction score