PDA

View Full Version : Painting portraits

efreysson
05-20-2016, 11:49 AM
I have never had anything to with painting or art in general, I don't know any of the technical terms, and I CERTAINLY don't know them in English. But I am about to write a scene where a nobleman poses for a portrait he commissioned.

I was wondering if someone knew the lingo and could give me enough information to add to the scene to make it feel real. Like, the steps the artist goes through, the techniques, and so on.

Also, roughly how long can a high-end portrait take?

mirandashell
05-20-2016, 08:34 PM
It completely depends. On the medium being used, the historical period, the artist him or herself and their methodology. Some artists work really quickly, some slowly. Some slap paint on the canvas, some are meticulous in their detailing.

Think we need more info as to time and setting.

Alessandra Kelley
05-20-2016, 09:29 PM
What timeperiod, please?

My day job is artist and I took years of art history and I delved way more into materials and techniques than most of my fellow-students. Not only could I give you vocabulary, I could probably tell you what pigments the artist would have used (and what were anachronisms).

Just as an intro, you know those little jointed wooden dolls artists use to pose things? They are called "manikins" or "lay figures" when life-sized, and high-class clients would avoid wasting their time sitting for portraiture by the artist dressing a lay figure in one of their outfits in the studio to paint. They would only have to sit for the time needed to paint their faces and hands.

In the case of really high-class clients, like kings or queens with little time, artists would sometimes work from an oil sketch of the face which would get handed round as a reference.

efreysson
05-20-2016, 09:46 PM
Think we need more info as to time and setting.

Well, it's space opera, so historical settings are not going to help here.