PDA

View Full Version : Book readings in other cities

dragonfliet
05-16-2016, 11:49 AM
So at the end of the summer, my first novel will come out with a very small press who is very new to all of this. I'm also new to it. It's not an ideal situation marketing-wise (my plan is essentially: contact all of my university contacts and pray to god it gets good reviews). There is essentially no marketing budget, but I'll be traveling to Boston and Philly (through a quirk of friends/family also traveling in those areas) and would love to get in contact with some local book stores to arrange for a reading if possible. At worst, I waste a few hours of my time, at best, I find a few new readers.

I'm curious if anyone has any advice on how to drum up interest to get people to actually show up to these readings. As for the book, it's literary fiction on the side of experimental (as for topics, it's about mountain climbing), and I'm not a person with a huge social media presence (hate it). It's obviously impossible to build a huge following in the coming few months, but I'm sure there is something that could be done. I don't know anyone in those areas (other than the two or three people who would be coming with me already), but I would rather not give a "reading" to two people who have already read the book. I'll do it, but I would rather not. This may be a lost cause, and I may just have to throw myself at the mercy of good luck (and great bookstore management), but I would love to hear if anyone has been in similar/same circumstances, and what they've done.

Old Hack
05-16-2016, 06:20 PM
If a bookshop agrees to host a book signing it's usual for the bookshop to promote the event to some extent. But they will want support from your publisher, in the form of posters, a stock of books which they can return if they don't sell, and so on. It's helpful if you or your publisher produces a pop-up banner which you can use as a backdrop when you're sitting at your signing table.