Running a small restaurant

Sera Trevor

Registered
Reaction score
Place: Los Angeles
Time: Present day

I'm looking for my character to work as a waiter in a very small, independently run cafe. For plot reasons, I need this restaurant to be open until 1am or so. (Or maybe even 24 hours)

QUESTIONS:
1) What is the MINIMUM staff needed to run a restaurant like this?
2) What sort of food would they be serving?
3) The restaurant is not very good, and they are on the brink of closing their doors. How many customers per day would be necessary to keep them just barely afloat?
4) Any other details about a failing restaurant that might be of interest?

marialou

Registered
Reaction score
I don't own a restaurant or work in one, but I used to work in the culinary industry so I have some suggestions.
1. Are the workers full time? If so, I'm thinking two cooks and two servers per shift (so that one of them is actually working each shift but no one is working seven days a week).
2. If they're open 24 hours, I'm expecting diner food.
3. No idea here, depends on so many factors.
4. If they're running out of money, maybe their menu is shrinking or they have to keep marking out menu items because they can't afford to order all the food they need. Being present day, maybe they also stop offering free wifi?

davidjgalloway

Opus is my guy.
Registered
Reaction score
Is it wrong that all this thread does is make me hungry? Probably.

I spent some time years back researching this for fun: there are lots of pages that tell you how to set up a restaurant and issues of staffing, budget, as well, so just some google searches in general on this as well as "top reasons restaurants fold" and so on should get you some case studies of failure you could mine for details. You also can look in local papers for articles when mainstay restaurants go out of style, they almost always talk about why if the details are known, since people want to know.

Sera Trevor

Registered
Reaction score