A simple guide to Self-Publishing through Amazon

ASeiple

Livin' la vida biblia
Registered
Reaction score
Hey there. I've been asked by a potential author to help guide her through the process of getting started. I've put together the guide below... but I'm no expert. Anyone want to look it over, and let me know if there's anything I could add to it? I'd owe you a beer, or non-alcoholic beverage of your choice, collectible the next time you're visiting the Dayton Ohio area... :D

So, you wanted to know how to self-publish your book. You've told me that it's twelve pages, and you made it with MS-Word. You have a goal of wanting as many people as possible to read it.

Bad news first: The only way I know how to get into print that doesn't cost money requires manuscripts with a minimum of twenty-four pages. Yours is only twelve, so for now you might have to settle for just e-books, unless you feel you can flesh it out some more.

Good news: If you stick with an ebook format, you can self-publish and put your book out there for readers. I can't promise anything, but I can tell you how to set it up so that you have the possibility of success.
And I can tell you how to do it without spending any money.

My estimate is that your best chance of success with the least amount of complication is to use Amazon. There are a number of reasons for this, but also I'm recommending it because it's the service I have the most experience with. Ask another self-published author, and they might tell you something different. That's fine, no two of us get here the exact same way.

You'll need a few things, first. Once you get these set, you're mostly ready to roll.

PART 1: THE SETUP