PDA

View Full Version : Okay to query agents and publishers at same time w/ different mss?

aus10phile
04-10-2016, 10:42 PM
I have a manuscript I queried agents with 2 years ago. After 28 queries and 12 Rs on full requests, I stopped, because I figured the ms must be fatally flawed. I felt like I should set it aside until I had a better idea how to revise it.

Well, 2 years later, I don't really want to revise it, and I'm not convinced it's critically flawed. While some of the Rs offered feedback, none of it was consistent/glaringly obvious for what I should change. And I have a lot more things I want to write. So, since it was just sitting there on my hard drive, I decided why not try it with a publisher that takes un-agented submissions? I've never tried that before. So I did, and now it's with an editor.

But now I'm also wrapping up edits on my latest ms. I want to try again with agents. This ms is a different genre. So I have a few questions:

1. Do I need to wait until something does or does not happen with the ms that's in an editor's hands before querying the new one?
2. If I was offered a contract, would I be shooting myself in the foot by publishing something in one genre and querying with an ms in a different genre?
3. Is there anything I would need to watch out for in a contract besides options/right of refusal that would limit my ability to query the new ms?

There's a big part of me that thinks I have a query that works well and an ms that's just sitting on my hard drive, so I might as well keep sending the dang thing out. But I don't want to accidentally do something that screws up my chances/options with the second ms. Thanks for any help!

Earthling
04-10-2016, 11:25 PM
1. No
2. No
3. Don't know!