PDA

View Full Version : Horse drawn vehicles in a fantasy city

Maythe
03-20-2016, 05:41 PM
I'm setting a story in a city that is formed on the lower slopes of a mountain. Cliffs divide the city into districts and great ramps have been built that run up these cliffs, many of the roads are quite steep and some narrow back alleys are stepped. Most people navigate the city on foot or horseback, sedan chairs are used by some but there are also horse drawn vehicles for freight and high-status individuals. I need to know how steep a slope can be before horse drawn vehicles are unable to travel on it. There will be a variety of carriages and wagons in the city - from heavy four wheeled freight wagons, to light two wheeled, one-horse carriages. The roads are largely cobbled with flat topped sets of the black stone of the mountain although scrap stone is used in a rougher fashion in the poor districts.

Alessandra Kelley
03-20-2016, 06:34 PM
I'm no expert, but poking around a bit it seems like people tried to keep wagon roads within a gradient of no more than about 3% (i.e. a 3-foot rise or fall every 100 linear feet).

CindyGirl
03-20-2016, 06:38 PM
You could also consider using mules or oxen to pull wagons, for their strength. Also, smaller loads could be moved by donkey's with paniers. They would be able to climb steeper or less smooth slopes.

Maythe
03-20-2016, 06:44 PM
Oh dear that probably makes my ramps up the cliff face impassable or ridiculously long... Damn. I think it's rethink time. Thanks for your help.

Maythe
03-20-2016, 06:46 PM
I hadn't considered oxen. That would be a good idea for the freight. Thanks for your help.

CindyGirl
03-20-2016, 06:50 PM
How technologically advanced is your city? Could they have developed an elevator type system for moving goods up the mountain? One where an ox or two, at the top, turns a wheel connected to a winch and pulley system, that lifts load of goods?

mirandashell
03-20-2016, 07:22 PM