PDA

View Full Version : Should I start using a pen-name halfway through my career?

Galumph_Triumph
03-05-2016, 11:21 PM
Hey friends, I have no clue where to post this. I'm hoping for some insight.
I've already published my debut novel, and built a small following with it. I published that book in my real name.
The problem is, I'm a graduate student and I'm training to become a teacher. It's very likely that I'll be teaching at high schools while I finish my PhD.

I'm wondering if this is going to be a conflict of interests, given that I am principally a horror author, and some of my work involves topics/themes that might upset parents. My novel has a suicide in it, and an implicit allusion to assault. My forthcoming novel is thriller about a father who tracks down down the sexual predator that targeted his son. In an upcoming collection of short horror stories, a few of my stories involve characters using psychedelics. My friends who are religious conservatives were hesitant to even own a copy of my debut novel because it has the word "Devil" in the title.

I think my work is pretty morally grounded. Assault is condemned, suicide is discussed with gentle thoughtfulness, and my characters tend to work through their problems and dark obsessions (the desire for revenge, for example) intelligently and humanely.

At the end of the day, I envision one of my students googling me, finding my books/author page/youtube channel, and reading my work. This isn't a problem because my current students are college kids; they are of age and their opinions don't matter. But when I work with minors, this shit could become a parental firestorm overnight.